Karen is Headed to Haiti

We will try to post Karen’s updates as timely as possible. This is the message she sent to her e-mail list yesterday.

Hi folks,

As you know, I will be traveling to Haiti this week, departing from Washington, DC early tomorrow morning and returning next Sunday evening.  While I am gone, I hope to put out some updates through my church’s e-list, for those of you to whom that may apply.  For others of you who have an interest in checking on the activities of our tour, you can visit “Haiti November 2013 Sponsor Tour – Compassion International” on Facebook.  The tour leaders expect to provide periodic updates there.  I will also add whatever updates I can, and hopefully some photos too, on Facebook during the week, and certainly many more upon my return.  Finally, early next week, when I send my next medical update mailing, I will write a bit about the trip and add a few special photos from it.

So, with all this in mind, I hope you will keep me and all of my 26 tour mates in your thoughts and prayers as we go to not only visit our own sponsored children, but to minister to many children and adults who participate in Compassion’s programs in Haiti.  You probably know that this is the poorest country in the western hemisphere, and following the catastrophic earthquake in January 2010, life just got harder still for the millions of people living there.  Compassion has worked in Haiti for several decades and plays an important role in helping to build the spiritual, economic, social and physical life of tens of thousands of children there, and they do it through people like me and many others who want to care for and love these people.  It helps to make them whole…and it helps to make us whole.

Love to you all,

Karen

P.S.  I’ve attached some photos of me with my boy, Enoche, when he was just a little nine-year-old.  A week from now, I will share photos of us when he is a 19-year-old young man.

ImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

