Meet Judy

Buenos Dias Amigos y Familia,

Well, we are coming down the home stretch – just about two and a half weeks to go. We are excited to see you all again soon.

At Bible Study last night we had about a dozen of the students. We closed the fellowship with each person witnessing a bit about how God is engaged in their lives right now. Some of the girls had some very powerful and emotional things to say. What struck me was that despite some very poor circumstances and even difficult home lives, these girls are so thankful to God for the opportunity to be at TLC and to have the chance to change their lives for the better through education and leadership development. However, even with the free education provided by TLC, some students’ families feel their absence at home as their daughters are not there to help or to provide support. A number of the girls talked about that pressure and concern and their seeking of God’s direction. One of the first-year students left campus about 6 weeks ago to care for her sick mother. We all hope and pray for her mom’s recovery and for Helde to be able to return to TLC.

Business Planning Class

Business Planning Class

This afternoon my senior class delivered their business plans to an assembly of classmates and teachers. While not quite done, it was the culmination of about 3 months of work. These 4 students will graduate March 22. Today each student made a 20-minute PowerPoint presentation and outlined their addressable market, financial forecasts and operational plans. Each of the 4 retail businesses will be in a different very small rural community, where no similar business exists-an agricultural supply store, bakery & coffee bar, a dairy store and a fast food restaurant. Each business may be started for $3-4,000, most of the capital goes to initial inventory or equipment. It’s interesting to know that operational costs are typically modest, as rent and labor is inexpensive. However goods, such as equipment and merchandise, is relatively expensive. This is one of the challenges of Honduras- low wages but fairly expensive “things.” Over the final couple weeks we will tweak the business plans and then consider how to launch and fund the businesses. The girls did a great job; they were much relieved this afternoon and at the same time very pumped up.

We have a very special treat for you now. One of our sweet and beautiful freshman is Judy Canelas. She is one of Trinity’s sponsored students. She is in my vocabulary group and she and Chris read a book a couple times a week. She has a wonderful sense of humor and is a joy to be around. I am handing the iPad to Judy now, for her to write you a message. Here’s Judy!

Judy

Judy

Hello! My name is Yudy Canelas, I am from Francia, Limon Colon. I am twenty years old and this is my first year in TLC.

Thank you for sponsoring me, I am very grateful for that. God bless you all of you.

Here at The Leadership Center we are grateful for all the members of Trinity Church, thank you so much for helping us and helping in the development of this country.

A couple months ago I met Mr. Dan and Mrs. Chris, they talk about Trinity Church.

Mrs. Chris brought materials from Trinity for pillows, blankets, hairpins and curtains. I made a blanket and two hairpins. Also she sent material to make earrings and necklaces and I am starting to make them and I sell. I discovered that I am good in that.

My spiritual goals for this quarter are read the Bible and go to church on Sundays.

Also I have academic goals, they are read books with someone else, improve my pronunciation and listen to English music. I have been reading books with Chris and we have almost finished the last one, it tittle is “Little house in the Big woods” Mrs. Chris said I did not need to read aloud with someone else, I can do it for fun. I was very pleased with that because that means I am improving my pronunciation.

Every Monday in English class the teacher gives us vocabulary words. Afterwards two classmate and I have pronunciation with Mr. Dan.

Every morning and afternoon my task is to feed the fish and check the water, I like to do that.

This is my last quarter of English and I am excited to begin the leadership year.

God bless you, and thank you again for your support and prayers. I hope to meet more members of Trinity church, it will be a pleasure to have you here because this is your house and you are very welcome.

I would you like to know about you and the church.

P.S: especial hello to Jose, Victoria and Sharon! Missing you.

With love… Yudy!

Well I hope you can get a sense from Judy’s note about how we all are playing a role in these wonderful girls’ lives. Whether it’s your prayers, financial support or donations of goods – we are all playing a part here.

The wind is whistling just a bit tonight, we can hear it in the mountain tree tops. The stars and the moon are very bright, I wish you could see it. Someday?

Blessings from Honduras,

Dan and Chris

photo 7 photo 6 photo 5

waiting for frijoles

waiting for frijoles

Dario and Brittany

Dario and Brittany

Leave a Reply

